7 Steps to get a job in the United Nations

The United Nations System - All UN agencies

General Assembly

Subsidiary Organs

  • Main Committees
  • Disarmament Commission
  • Human Rights Council
  • International Law Commission
  • Joint Inspection Unit (JIU)
  • Standing committees and ad hoc bodies.

Related Organizations

  • CTBTO Preparatory Commission Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization
  • IAEA International Atomic Energy Agency
  • ICC International Criminal Court
  • IOM International Organization for Migration
  • ISA International Seabed Authority
  • ITLOS International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea
  • OPCW Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
  • WTO World Trade Organization

Funds and Programmes

  1. UNDP United Nations Development Programme
  2. UNCDF United Nations Capital Development Fund
  3. UNV United Nations Volunteers
  4. UNEP United Nations Environment Programme
  5. UNFPA United Nations Population Fund
  6. UN-Habitat United Nations Human Settlements Programme
  7. UNICEF United Nations Childrenโ€™s Fund
  8. WFP World Food Programme (UN/FAO)

Research and Training

  • UNIDIR United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research
  • UNITAR United Nations Institute for Training and Research
  • UNSSC United Nations System Staff College
  • UNU United Nations University Other Entities
  • ITC International Trade Centre (UN/WTO)
  • UNCTAD United Nations Conference on Trade and Development
  • UNHCR Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
  • UNOPS United Nations Office for Project Services
  • UNRWA United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East
  • UN-Women United Nations Entity for Gender quality and the Empowerment of Women

Security Council

Subsidiary Organs

  • Counter-Terrorism Committee
  • International Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY)
  • International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals
  • Military Staff Committee
  • Peacekeeping operations and political missions
  • Sanctions committees (ad hoc)
  • Standing committees and ad hoc bodies


Functional Commissions

  • Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice
  • Narcotic Drugs
  • Population and Development
  • Science and Technology for Development
  • Social Development
  • Statistics
  • Status of Women
  • United Nations Forum on Forests

Regional Commissions

  • ECA Economic Commission for Africa
  • ECE Economic Commission for Europe
  • ECLAC Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean
  • ESCAP Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific
  • ESCWA Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia

Other Bodies

โ€ข Committee for Development Policy

โ€ข Committee of Experts on Public Administration

โ€ข Committee on Non-Governmental Organizations

โ€ข Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues

  • UNAIDS Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS
  • UNGEGN United Nations Group of Experts on Geographical Names

Research and Training

  • UNICRI United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute
  • UNRISD United Nations Research Institute for Social Development

Specialized Agencies

  • FAO Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
  • ICAO International Civil Aviation Organization
  • IFAD International Fund for Agricultural Development
  • ILO International Labour Organization
  • IMF International Monetary Fund
  • IMO International Maritime Organization
  • IOM International Organisation for migration
  • ITU International Telecommunication Union
  • UNESCO United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
  • UNIDO United Nations Industrial Development Organization
  • UNWTO World Tourism Organization
  • UPU Universal Postal Union
  • WHO World Health Organization
  • WIPO World Intellectual Property Organization
  • WMO World Meteorological Organization


โ€ข IBRD International Bank for Reconstruction and Development

โ€ข IDA International Development Association

โ€ข IFC International Finance Corporation


Departments and offices

  • EOSG Executive Office of the Secretary-General
  • DESA Department of Economic and Social Affairs
  • DFS Department of Field Support
  • DGACM Department for General Assembly and Conference Management
  • DM Department of Management DPA Department of Political Affairs
  • DPI Department of Public Information
  • DPKO Department of Peacekeeping Operations
  • DSS Department of Safety and Security
  • OCHA Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs
  • ODA Office for Disarmament Affairs
  • OHCHR Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights
  • OIOS Office of Internal Oversight Services
  • OLA Office of Legal Affairs
  • OSAA Office of the Special Adviser on Africa
  • PBSO Peacebuilding Support Office
  • SRSG/CAAC Office of the Special Representative of the SecretaryGeneral for Children and Armed Conflict
  • SRSG/SVC Office of the Special Representative of the SecretaryGeneral on Sexual Violence in Conflict
  • SRSG/VAC Office of the Special Representative of the SecretaryGeneral on Violence Against Children
  • UNISDR United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction
  • UNODC United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime
  • UNOG United Nations Office at Geneva
  • UN-OHRLLS Office of the High Representative for the Least Developed Countries, Landlocked Developing Countries and Small Island Developing States
  • UNON United Nations Office at Nairobi
  • UNOP United Nations Office for Partnerships
  • UNOV United Nations Office at Vienna



1 Members of the United Nations System Chief Executives Board for Coordination (CEB).

๐Ÿ“š ๐——๐—ถ๐˜€๐—ฐ๐—ผ๐˜ƒ๐—ฒ๐—ฟ ๐—›๐—ผ๐˜„ ๐˜๐—ผ ๐—š๐—ฒ๐˜ ๐—ฎ ๐—๐—ผ๐—ฏ ๐—ถ๐—ป ๐˜๐—ต๐—ฒ ๐—จ๐—ก ๐—ถ๐—ป ๐Ÿฎ๐Ÿฌ๐Ÿฎ๐Ÿฏ! ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿค ๐—ฅ๐—ฒ๐—ฎ๐—ฑ ๐—ผ๐˜‚๐—ฟ ๐—ก๐—˜๐—ช ๐—ฅ๐—ฒ๐—ฐ๐—ฟ๐˜‚๐—ถ๐˜๐—บ๐—ฒ๐—ป๐˜ ๐—š๐˜‚๐—ถ๐—ฑ๐—ฒ ๐˜๐—ผ ๐˜๐—ต๐—ฒ ๐—จ๐—ก ๐Ÿฎ๐Ÿฌ๐Ÿฎ๐Ÿฏ ๐˜„๐—ถ๐˜๐—ต ๐˜๐—ฒ๐˜€๐˜ ๐˜€๐—ฎ๐—บ๐—ฝ๐—น๐—ฒ๐˜€ ๐—ณ๐—ผ๐—ฟ ๐—จ๐—ก๐—›๐—–๐—ฅ, ๐—ช๐—™๐—ฃ, ๐—จ๐—ก๐—œ๐—–๐—˜๐—™, ๐—จ๐—ก๐——๐—ฆ๐—ฆ, ๐—จ๐—ก๐—™๐—ฃ๐—”, ๐—œ๐—ข๐—  ๐—ฎ๐—ป๐—ฑ ๐—ผ๐˜๐—ต๐—ฒ๐—ฟ๐˜€! ๐ŸŒ

โš ๏ธ ๐‚๐ก๐š๐ง๐ ๐ž ๐˜๐จ๐ฎ๐ซ ๐‹๐ข๐Ÿ๐ž ๐๐จ๐ฐ: ๐๐จ๐ฐ๐ž๐ซ๐Ÿ๐ฎ๐ฅ ๐“๐ž๐œ๐ก๐ง๐ข๐ช๐ฎ๐ž๐ฌ ๐ก๐จ๐ฐ ๐ญ๐จ ๐ ๐ž๐ญ ๐š ๐ฃ๐จ๐› ๐ข๐ง ๐ญ๐ก๐ž ๐”๐ง๐ข๐ญ๐ž๐ ๐๐š๐ญ๐ข๐จ๐ง๐ฌ ๐๐Ž๐–!

2 UN Office for Partnerships (UNOP) is the UNโ€™s focal point vis-a-vis the United Nations Foundation, Inc.

3 IAEA and OPCW report to the Security Council and the General Assembly (GA).

4 WTO has no reporting obligation to the GA, but contributes on an ad hoc basis to GA and Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) work on, inter alia, finance and development issues.

5 Specialized agencies are autonomous organizations whose work is coordinated through ECOSOC (intergovernmental level) and CEB (intersecretariat level).

6 The Trusteeship Council suspended operation on 1 November 1994, as on 1 October 1994 Palau, the last United Nations Trust Territory, became independent.

7 International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) and Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA) are not specialized agencies in accordance with Articles 57 and 63 of the Charter, but are part of the World Bank Group.

8 The secretariats of these organs are part of the UN Secretariat.

9 The Secretariat also includes the following offices: The Ethics Office, United Nations Ombudsman and Mediation Services, Office of Administration of Justice and the Office on Sport for Development and Peace

Diagrama of UN system - UN system

UN system